ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:41 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:43 pm 
n00b
n00b

I started lifting about four weeks ago. I've been making pretty good progress, but recently I've had some pain in my front shoulders when doing exercises like DB front lateral raises and tricep kickbacks. I don't experience any pain when doing other shoulder exercises, like dips or the overhead press. After workouts my shoulders don't hurt whatsoever, it only hurts during these exercises. My training partner thought that it might be because we've done a lot of benching recently and my shoulders aren't up to it. I know diagnosing something like this over the net is difficult, but any suggestions would be very appreciated. Thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:56 pm 
Apprentice
Apprentice

"Front lateral raise" doesn't make any sense because front obviously means front, and lateral means sideways. If you are raising your arms in front, it is simply DB front raise. I think that is probably what you mean.

Other posters here know way more about kinesiology and physiology than I do, so I think you'll get the best information from them, but it is true that improper form on the bench can give you shoulder issues. You want to pinch your shoulder blades together and have your arms more tucked in as opposed to flared out to the side (they should form an angle closer to 45 degrees than 90 degrees with your body). You also don't want an extremely wide grip.

That being said, there's no way for me to tell if the bench press, or any other exercise, is causing your shoulder pain. I used to have some pain in my right shoulder whenever I did bent over DB rows. I don't have that pain anymore simply because I stopped doing DB rows. If it hurts to do front raises, you could try shoulder press instead, since they both work the same muscle group and you mentioned they don't bother you when you do them.