Training for Football

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward, jethrof

BIGtenMaDbAdGeR
Rookie
Rookie

Training for Football

Post by BIGtenMaDbAdGeR » Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:24 pm

Hey all, I am starting training again and this time I am training to try out for my D III college football team next year. Although I am currently studying Exercise Science, I am a novice as a Freshman, so I'm hoping someone experienced can help me.

Here are my stats: age 21, 5'7", 160 lbs, probably about 15% BF, and here are estimates of what I had accomplished, or hadn't accomplished I feel, when I was working out for 2 months straight before I quit about three months ago: Bench 1RM of 240 lbs, Squat 1RM of 340 lbs, and a 40-yd-dash of about 3.9 sec.

I am looking to try out for the half-back slot, so my goals in a nutshell would be: Bench 1RM of at least 300 lbs, Squat 1RM of at least 450 lbs, and a 40-yd-dash of at most 3.5 sec. I am also looking to reduce my BF % down to less than 10% and increase my weight to at least 180 lbs.

Furthermore, I am going to try out Andreu Swaseys explosive training program which consists of:
Monday
1) Snatch-Grip Jump Shrug; 3 sets; 3-5 reps; rest (minutes) 3-5
2) Barbell Squat; 5 sets; 4-6 reps; rest (minutes) 3-5
3) Push Press; 3 sets; 6-8 reps; rest (minutes) 2-3
4) Back Extension; 2 sets; 10 reps; rest (minutes) 1-2
Tuesday
1) Bench Press; 4 sets; 4-6 reps; rest (minutes) 3-5
2) Pullup (or Lat Pulldown); 4 sets; 8 reps; rest (minutes) 2-3
3) Dumbbell Shoulder Press; 2 sets; 12 reps; rest (minutes) 1-2
4) Barbell Curl; 3 sets; 10 reps; rest (minutes) 1-2
Thursday
1) High Pull; 3 sets; 3-5 reps; rest (minutes) 3-5
2) Front Squat; 3 sets; 6-8 reps; rest (minutes) 2-3
3) Romanian Deadlift; 4 sets; 6-8 reps; rest (minutes) 2-3
4) Lunge; 3 sets; 6-8 reps; rest (minutes) 1-2
Friday
1) Dumbbell Row; 4 sets; 6-8 reps; rest (minutes) 2-3