Curious about circuit training

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, jethrof, stuward, parth

Haffy13
Novice
Novice

Curious about circuit training

Post by Haffy13 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:56 pm

So, this is an area where I have little knowledge, but am curious about incorporating it into my routine, but not at the cost of strength gains. Is it possible to do traditional weight lifting one day and then circuit training the next day, using the same groups of muscles and so on? or is that too much work?

Let me know if I'm not being specific enough, I don't know that much about circuit training other than the idea of it being focused on muscular endurance and cardiovascular fitness.

TimD
In Memoriam: TimD
In Memoriam: TimD

Post by TimD » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:41 am

Circuits are a great conditioning tool, and can be used as an aid to diet for fat loss, but aren't that great for overal size and strength. So, the question becomes how to incorporate them. I would use them for a light session, and would NOT do them the next day after a heavy session, especially if they are incorporating the same movements you worked hardFor instance, Full body heavy/med, rest, circuits or complexes, rest, full body heavy/med.
Tim

Haffy13
Novice
Novice

Post by Haffy13 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:09 pm

Thanks Tim, that's what I wanted to know

Immortal

Post by Immortal » Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:31 pm

In my opinion, circuit training is best done in its own week, like dont try to do circuit training in a week where you lifted heavy and such. Circuit training is a serious workout and should only be done up to 3 days a week because it needs a very big recovery time. The best routines for circuit training are ones that keep your body guessing, and if you dont want to keep time, you can do reps so here is an example of a circuit training routine my coach did and it greatly helped with all around conditioning and sport specific strength.