Going to start requiring login

Admistrative notes, report abuse

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, ianjay, stuward

Post Reply
Eric
Novice
Novice
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:02 am

Post by Eric » Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:05 pm

about time
very good call

User avatar
TimD
In Memoriam: TimD
In Memoriam: TimD
Posts: 3129
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:04 am
Location: Va Beach, Va

Post by TimD » Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:21 am

After having pulled out over 15 spams just this morning alone, am switching permissions now. You can still read, but must log in to post.
Tim

User avatar
Ironman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3991
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:40 am

Post by Ironman » Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:42 am

I figured that was coming. About time I registered anyway. It was a very painless process.

User avatar
Ironman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3991
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:40 am

Post by Ironman » Wed Jun 07, 2006 3:18 pm

There are a couple other things you can do. I have seen this software set up to require entering a code. It is in a picture so it can't be picked up by bots. It can also be set to require e-mail confirmation. That is a good way to keep the spam bots at bay.

Post Reply